Best Bram Stoker’s edition

Many international best-selling authors, along with popular actors, screenwriters and film directors, have been awarded by the Horror Writers Association for their works and lifetime achievements since the Stokers’ establishment.

Prolific author Stephen King, for example, won the prize for best novel in the first edition, along with HWA founder Robert R. McCammon (it was a tie), for his popular psychological thriller “Misery”. King is today one of the most awarded authors and collected in the past fifteen years fourteen titles, including the Lifetime Achievement Award received in 2002.

Among the Lifetime Achievement winners are also Ray Bradbury, best known for his dystopian novel “Fahrenheit 451” (1988), Robert Bloch, best known as the writer of “Psycho” (1989), multiple Pulitzer Price nominee Joyce Carol Oates (1993), British actor Christopher Lee, who starred in twelve Dracula films during his long career, including the seven produced by Hammer Films (1994), Ira Levin, highly acclaimed author of “Rosemary’s Baby” (1996), Academy Award winning American film director, screenwriter and actor Roger Corman, acclaimed by the critics for his cycle of films adapted from the tales of Edgar Allan Poe and mentor to young film directors including Francis Ford Coppola, Martin Scorsese, Ron Howard, Jonathan Demme and James Cameron (1998), author Anne Rice, best known for the “The Vampire Chronicles” that inspired the popular flick “Interview with the Vampire” (2003), horror and science fiction director John Carpenter (2007) and mystery author Joe R. Lansdale (2011), who won a total of eight titles since the Stokers’ establishment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *